A Boring Film, Yet A Great Film


One of the most boring films I have ever seen but yet one amazing film. Besides being a dramatically long film that moves slow throughout, it was one of the best narratives I have seen. The story had a good flow to it, following a strict narrative that was quite disturbing.

Lars von Trier’s, Breaking the Waves (1996) was not a film that I would ever want to sit through again. I found this film to be one of the weirdest most boring films I have ever watched. However what struck me and will stick is the way the narrative was laid out. The first thing I noticed was the chapters to the film like you were reading a book secondly was how different the narrative was. It was unlike any film I have ever seen before, the story itself was disturbing following the story of this mentally ill woman who worshiped God but was very unholy in her actions. When talking to God she spoke what she believed he was saying to her as if she was possessed then she would have a very innocent reply back to him.

A second thing that really stood out to me was the cinematography; the different shots and camera movements throughout really helped tell the story. When she would pray the camera was close up on her face to see her expressions very clearly. This also put a lot of emphasis on how messed up she was in the head when she spoke for God himself. This being less cinematography and more editing they both correlate with each other, when she would start to go crazy there would be a lot of quick cuts to different angles and shots of her outrage.

I found these few elements to be very good at portraying this story. I was not much into the movie but did notice this and it stood out a lot. These elements and uses of them really show a good style of filmmaking. The narrative as well stood out a lot because of how different it was compared to other films you see. A film with a normal plot was in a sense very disturbing and somewhat scary and it gives a different outlook to what the films genre could be labeled as.

Leave a comment